Monday, December 13, 2010

College Football Bowl Matchups 2010

Undoubtedly Oregon and Auburn will headline the postseason bowl schedule when they meet in the BCS title game Jan. 10 in Glendale, Ariz.

The other BCS bowls:

Fiesta - Oklahoma vs. UConn
Rose - Wisconsin vs. TCU
Orange - Virginia Tech vs. Stanford
Sugar - Ohio State vs. Arkansas

Besides the five BCS bowls, there are several other intriguing matchups among the 35 bowl games that begin on Dec. 18 in Albuquerque, N.M., with Brigham Young and UTEP meeting in the New Mexico Bowl.

New Year's Eve will feature two of the better non-BCS bowls in El Paso, Texas, and Atlanta. The Hyundai Sun Bowl will pit Miami and Notre Dame in a game that should pull down huge TV ratings. Also, the Chick-fil-A Bowl features Florida State against old nemesis Steve Spurrier, now at South Carolina.

In all there was 72 bowl eligible teams for 70 bowl berths. Temple, which went 8-4 and defeated Big East champion UConn, did not receive a bowl berth. Western Michigan (6-6) was the other bowl eligible team that didn't earn a bowl berth.

The SEC received 10 of the 70 bowl berths, followed by ACC (nine), Big Ten (eight), Big 12 (eight), Big East (six), Conference USA (six), Mountain West (five), MAC (four), WAC (four), Pac-10 (four), Sun Belt (three) and all three independents (Army, Navy and Notre Dame).            
Some conferences were not able to fill all of their bowl tie-ins, which is why some bowls have teams from different conferences.

No comments: