Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Cam Newton Named AP Player of the Year

Cam Newton was named AP Player of the Year Wednesday, another offseason accolade for the player that led Auburn to the No. 1 ranking and a spot in the BCS title game.

Newton received 51 of 60 votes. Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore got three votes, Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck got two votes and four ballots were left unreturned.

After spending the season embroiled in a recruiting scandal over whether his father, Cecil, asked Mississippi State for cash in exchange for Cam's commitment, Newton has spent the offseason acquiring hardware. Newton has also won the Heisman Trophy as well as the Davey O'Brien and Maxwell awards.

Auburn will play Oreon in the BCS National Championship Game on Jan. 10.

No comments: