Monday, December 6, 2010

Heisman Trophy Finalists Announced: Cam Newton Heads Field of Four

The 2010 Heisman Trophy finalists were revealed Monday and, not surprisingly, Auburn's Cam Newton headlined the field. 

Also joining Newton in New York for Saturday evening's Heisman Trophy presentation will be LaMichael James ofOregon, Andrew Luck of Stanford and Kellen Moore of Boise State. 

The 2010 Heisman Trophy presentation will air on ESPN at 8:00 p.m. Eastern Saturday, December 11. 

Newton led Auburn to a 13-0 record and into the BCS Championship Game. Along the way, he has amassed a huge stat line. Newton leads the nation in passer efficiency rating (188.2) and is tied for second in rushing touchdowns (20). He's 10th in rushing yards and has thrown 28 touchdown passes -- against just six interceptions -- while leading the nation in yards per passing attempt (10.5). Newton appears to be the obvious front-runner, and only off-field questions seem able to prevent him from winning the coveted award. Should Newton win, he'd be Auburn's first winner since Bo Jackson in 1985. 

James is the leading rusher in the nation (1,682 yards with a 6.0 average per carry) and a key cog of the high-powered offense for BCS Championship Game participant Oregon (12-0). James' 21 touchdowns also were tops in the nation, and he did all this despite missing one game due to suspension. Oregon has never had a Heisman Trophy winner. 

Moore led Boise State to an 11-1 record and a share of the WAC championship. He's second in efficiency rating and yards per passing attempt only to Newton. He's eighth in passing yards, third in completion percentage and fourth in passing touchdowns -- with an outstanding 33-to-5 TD to interception ratio. If Moore wins, he'd be the first player from a non-AQ conference to win the award since Ty Detmer of BYU won in 1990. 

Luck led Stanford to an 11-1 record and the No. 4 spot in the final BCS rankings, the school's highest finish ever. The Cardinal's only loss was at Oregon. Luck ranks seventh in passing efficiency and was one of just five quarterbacks to complete at least 70 percent of his passes. Of that group, only Moore had more touchdown passes than Luck's 28. The only Heisman Trophy winner in Stanford history was Jim Plunkett in 1970. Luck becomes the second consecutive Cardinal to make the trip as a finalist, as Toby Gerhardt went last season. 

Mark Ingram of Alabama won the Heisman Trophy last season. 

No comments: